29. August 2016
Document versioning – activation and settings
To ensure revision security in your company, you must be able to track the details of changes to documents and files clearly, and know which employees did what and when. The traditional file system only knows the overwrite function; that is, replacing a document. New versions can of course be saved as completely new files but the required information is still not logged satisfactorily.
How version management works
Instead of overwriting a document, a new version with a consecutive version number is created that is optically integrated into the actual original file.
Example: You import a document with the name “document.docx” on 27 May 2016. This is automatically the original document in version 1, even if it is not yet displayed to you as a versioned document.
If you now edit the file “document.docx”, save your changes and choose the corresponding button in the AMAGNO client to finish editing, AMAGNO automatically saves the document as version 2 and overwrites the document apparently. However, the original version is still available, is displayed as version 1, and AMAGNO logs the users who made the changes and when.
Types of document versioning in AMAGNO
AMAGNO offers you the following versioning of documents:
1. No versioning: As in the traditional file system, documents are simply overwritten. Previous processing statuses can no longer be tracked or reproduced. Even if AMAGNO still assigns a version number to the relevant document internally.
2. Limited versioning: For 14 processing days, AMAGNO saves all changes generated over 14 days in total irrespective of the actual period and number of actual versions. This is a special mode and is recommended for documents that are edited within a team.
3. Unlimited versioning: AMAGNO logs any changes for an unrestricted period of time in this setting.
Activating versioning of documents
If you click a document in AMAGNO, you are shown the characteristics of the respective document in the toolbox on the right.
Under “Version settings” you see the current selection for the document. If you would like to change this, simply click “Version type” and select the required option in the dialog box that opens.
Note: If a document has already been edited without versioning, version 1 is consequently not displayed. If the document is also archived, the warning message “Original version is missing” appears.
If a document has already been edited with versioning, you can no longer reverse or restrict the versioning.
Do you have any questions about versioning documents and files? We welcome your comments!